The unofficial 2021 General Election results for Ross County

Posted on:

< < Back to

ROSS COUNTY, Ohio (WOUB) — Here are the results for contested races in Ross County, where 12,549 voters cast their ballots.

In the race for president of Chillicothe City Council, Republican Joe Gieringer won with 2,157 votes. Also in Chillicothe, Republican Jeremy M. Siberell won the race for city treasurer with 2,533 votes.

Three seats were up for Chillicothe City Council at large seats, won by Republican Julie A. Preston with 2,414 votes, Republican Anthony Phillips with 2,027 votes and Democrat Dustin Proehl with 1,765 votes.

Chillicothe’s City Council had contested races in the fourth and fifth ward. Republican Terrell Fairrow secured the Fourth Ward seat with 185 votes, and Republican Allison Henderson won the fifth ward with 394 votes. 

Bainbridge Village had five people run for four seats on its council. Jeremy Yoakem led the way with 90 votes, Xavier Mason Hollon and Calee Smith had 80 votes apiece, and Bridget Hollon Skaggs secured the fourth seat with 76 votes. 

Township trustee positions were contested in a variety of places. In Buckskin township, the two winners were James R. VanZant Jr. with 321 votes and Larry B. Olaker with 256 votes. The two open spots in Colerain township went to Robert E. Delong, with 278 votes, and Aaron Swepston, with 248 votes. In Concord township, Brandon Garrison won with 639 votes and Steven M. Core was the other winner with 496 votes. 

In Harrison township, the two open spots went to Toby Dale Kellough with 157 votes and Claude D. Gray with 144 votes. Huntington township had two winners as well, as Gary Hopkins secured a spot with 480 votes and Larry Kellough secured the other with 447 votes. The two open spots in Jefferson township went to James Barker, who got 156 votes, and Ryan Skeens, who received 149 votes. 

In the Scioto township trustee race, four people ran for two open spots. The winners were Tom K. Straub with 2,323 votes and John K. Wetzel, with 1,806 votes. And in Union township, Wes Bowles won one open trustee seat with 762 votes and Bryan B. Smith won the other with 694 votes.

Liberty township fiscal officer was won by Nan Clary, who received 231 votes.

There were two seats available on the governing board of the Ross-Pike Educational Service Center. The winners were Michael B. Kinnamon with 4,228 votes and Michelle Free Bowdle received 3,643 votes.

There were also several races for board of education seats throughout the county. The three spots available on Adena School Board went to Kevin L. Pancake with 910 votes, Nathan Huff with 902 votes, Josh McQuiniff with 849 votes and Steven R. Clever Jr. with 790 votes.

Chillicothe’s School Board had three seats that went to Shawn Porter with 2,251 votes, Bill Bonner with 2,090 votes and Randy R. Kelley with 1,819 votes.

For the Greenfield Exempted Village School Board, Eric Zint secured a seat with 377 votes, Rachel Bricket Fraley won with 299 votes and Charley Roman won the third open seat with 251 votes.

The Huntington School Board had two open spots that went to Deric A. Cox with 403 votes and C.R. McCloskey with 384 votes.

Paint Valley School Board had six candidates run for three seats. The winners were Cassidy Drummond with 479 votes, Sarah Horsley with 466 votes and Beverly Ross with 328 votes.

The Waverly School Board had three open seats, going to Joshua P. Hobbs with 44 votes, John Boyer with 38 votes and Joshua A. Remy with 35 votes.

The 1 mill tax levy renewal for Ross County Health District passed with 61% of the vote. Ross County’s Alcohol, Drug, Mental Health levy renewal also passed with 61% in favor. 

The village of Bainbridge passed a 2 mills tax levy renewal with 82 votes and passed an additional 2.9 mills levy renewal with 76 votes. 

The village of Frankfort passed a 1.8 mills levy renewal with 156 votes.

Green township passed a 1 mill levy renewal with 701 votes and a 1.5 mills levy renewal with 667 votes.

Harrison township rejected a 3 mills levy with 140 votes against.

Paxton township approved a 1.4 mills levy renewal with 181 votes.

Springfield township approved a 2.5 mills levy renewal with 357 votes.

The Adena Local School District income tax was defeated with 903 votes against.

The Paint Valley Local School District 2.5 mill levy passed with 535 votes.

Get the details from all of the races in Ross County here.

Per Ohio law, these results are considered unofficial until final count is completed in three weeks.