Jay Skaggs – 2023 NMF Sycamore Sessions

By: By:
Posted on:

< < Back to

NELSONVILLE, Ohio (WOUB) – Kentucky-based musician Jay Skaggs is creating a name for himself with his distinctly emotive vocal style and impressive skills as a guitarist. He showed off both during his 2023 Sycamore Session.

His set featured songs from 2022’s OK LUCKY YOU, 2023’s Live and At Home: A Mixtape, his latest single Big River 2, plus a few unreleased songs and a Sturgill Simpson cover. 

1. Bad Dreams (OK LUCKY YOU) – 0:20
2. Fame Infinity (unreleased) – 3:09
3. Gunpowder Creek (Live and at Home: a Mixtape) – 6:40
4. Marigold Skies (unreleased) – 9:43
5. 800 Years (Live and at Home: a Mixtape) – 12:53
6. Big River 2 (unreleased) – 17:12
7. Off Ramps (Live and at Home: a Mixtape) – 20:30
8. Simple Love (Live and at Home: a Mixtape) – 25:42
9. Turtles All the Way Down (Sturgill Simpson cover) – 28:50
10. Ok Lucky You (OK LUCKY YOU) – 32:37
11. Merry Christmas, Happy Birthday (unreleased) – 36:33
The Sycamore Sessions are presented by the Nelsonville Music Festival in collaboration with WOUB Public Media and the Ohio University Scripps College of Communication’s School of Media Arts and Studies. The performances were recorded and produced by Media Arts and Studies students under the supervision of Host and Director Josh Antonuccio and Associate Producers – Director of Photography Andie Walla (Media Arts and Studies Associate Professor of Instruction), Audio Supervisor Adam Rich (WOUB), and WOUB’s Arts and Culture Editor Emily Votaw. All performances took place during the 2023 Nelsonville Music Festival, which is a production of Stuart’s Opera House.