WOUB and OU staff win Emmy® awards

Posted on:

< < Back to


WOUB and OU staff received several Emmy® awards at the annual ceremony held by the Ohio Valley Regional Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) on Saturday, July 21 in Louisville, Ky.
WOUB’s “Down and Dirty Science,” an educational series that focuses on transporting energy through the environmental system, received an award in the Program/Host category for the host of the series, Craig Reck.
An alumni Newswatch episode that aired during Ohio University’s annual Homecoming weekend received an award for alumnus Tom Housley in the Director – Live or Live to Tape category. Housley also received an award in the Health/Science/Environment-Program category for “Making Miracles – Casey’s Story,” a production of WHIO.
Ohio University Athletics’ Evan Shaw was awarded an Emmy® in the Editor/Sports category.
OU professors Casey Hayward and Keith Newman were awarded an Emmy® in the Documentary – Cultural/Topic category for the “David Hostetler: The Last Dance.” Andre Girbou and Eric Arvai were also winners for “The Last Dance” in the Musical/Composition-Arrangement category. 
“The Last Dance” focuses on world-renowned sculptor David Hostetler as he reflects on his life and career. Hostetler, an Ohio University alumnus and professor Emeritus, was named Alumnus of the Year in 2010. 
WOUB alumni Gabe Ross, Evan Millward and Brooks Jarosz helped host and produce the Emmy® production, which included a live web stream.
Other WOUB alumni winners include: Matt Sigafoos, for "Reds Live" in the Sports-Regularly Scheduled daily or weekly program category; Phil Drechsler for "US Navy Veterans" in the Continuing Coverage category and Jason Pheister for "High School Sports" in the Technical Achievement category.
The Ohio Valley Chapter of the NATAS consists of 13 television markets in four states.