WOUB Public Media will be making necessary repairs to the WOUL-FM transmitter located in Ironton, Ohio, today, Thursday June 20th between the hours of 9:00 am and 4:00pm. WOUL-FM will be off the air while the work is taking place.  This only pertains to WOUL-FM. Listeners affected can still hear WOUB online at woub.org, through the WOUB Public Media app, and through your smart speakers.   We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.  We will work diligently to keep the outage as short as possible.


Write-In Candidates File For November Election

Posted on:

< < Back to

Eight people filed to run in Athens County as write-in candidates in the November general election, including three incumbents. Monday was the deadline for write-in candidates to file.

In Jacksonville, Mayor Jay Chapman intended to file to be on the November ballot, but withdrew his petition after election workers found problems with it. Someone had signed for someone else, which invalidated part of the petition, and another part was disallowed because it had not been filled out correctly, according to an elections board worker.

Chapman, who was appointed mayor after the Jan. 8 resignation of then-mayor George Pallo, filed as a write-in. Two other candidates for mayor, Anthony McNickle and Randy Williams, will actually be on the ballot.

Trimble Local School Board member Erica North also withdrew her petition after part of it was disallowed because someone had signed for someone else, so she filed as a write-in. All North has to do is vote for herself to guarantee a seat on the board, since three seats are up for election and only two candidates — Tara Sayre and John Standley — filed to be on the ballot.

Amesville Council member Jayne Marie Darling did not file to be on the ballot, but filed as a write-in. If she gets one vote she'll be elected, as will write-in candidate Suzanne Greif if she gets a vote. Four seats are up for election, but only two candidates — incumbents Marcia Burchby and Robert Pollock — filed to be on the ballot.

Write-in candidate Steve Roseberry Sr. is a shoe-in for Coolville Village Council, provided he at least votes for himself. Four seats are up for election, and only Jodie Taylor and Rose Tyman filed to be on the ballot. Roseberry intended to file, but withdrew his petition when part of it was invalidated because he didn't sign it until after some signatures were gathered, an elections board worker said.

Richard Brown filed as a write-in candidate for Bern Twp. trustee, joining an already-crowded field that includes ballot candidates Roxanne Groff, Penny Wheeler, incumbent David Bennett and incumbent Alan Gilchrist. Two will be elected.

Billy Ernest Cramblit filed as a write-in candidate for Glouster Village Council after he withdrew his petition due to a problem with dates and someone signing for someone else, an elections worker said. With four seats up for election, five other candidates will actually be on the ballot, including incumbents Bob Eberts, Diana Gwilym and Lou Anna Lenigar, as well as L.R. Faires and Debra Metcalf.

Ralph Kevin Coey of Glouster filed as a write-in candidate for Trimble Local School District's seat on the Athens-Meigs Educational Service Center Governing Board. No other candidate filed.