Bobcats Breeze By Bryant In Oregon

Posted on:

< < Back to

Ohio Volleyball jumped out the gate to a 3-0 victory (25-15, 25-10, 25-14) over Bryant in the Oregon Classic Friday, earning a win in its season opener for the first time since 2010.

The Bobcats raced to a 7-3 lead early in the first set before Bryant crept back to take a 13-11 lead, prompting Ohio coach Ryan Theis to take a timeout. After the timeout, Ohio rallied for five straight points behind the service of freshman outside hitter Mallory Salis, forcing Bryant to take its first timeout.

Salis’ momentum carried through the timeout, though, as Ohio won five more points before Bryant could answer, taking the Green-and-White lead to 21-16. Overall, the ‘Cats closed out the set on a 14-2 run.

The Bobcats continued to hold serve for the majority of the game.

Ohio recorded a .824 hitting percentage in the second frame before coasting to a straight-sets victory.

The Bobcats hit .521 as a team in the match, posting their highest collective hitting percentage in more than four seasons. Defensively, Ohio held Bryant to a .116 hitting percentage.

Reigning MAC Player of the Year Kelly Lamberti led the ‘Cats with 13 kills and a .500 hitting percentage. Freshman Katie Horton got the start in her first career match and recorded 10 kills on a .471 clip with three block assists. Brooke Coleman also started on the back row in her first career match, contributing four digs.

Redshirt junior Liis Kullerkahn posted eight kills on .538 hitting, holding down the right side of the court.

Salis scored three service aces in her Ohio debut. Graduate middle blocker Alexis Pinson added two service aces and three blocks in her first match with the Bobcats.

Junior middle blocker Hannah Burkle and Preseason All-MAC outside hitter Chelsea Bilger all sat out the match via coach’s decision.

Senior defensive specialist Mollie Geske sat out the contest with an injury. Her status is day-to-day.

Ohio will play two matches tomorrow in the round robin tournament – against Eastern Washington at 4 p.m. and tournament host No. 8 Oregon at 10 p.m. eastern time.