The D-Rays 2022 Nelsonville Music Festival Sycamore Session

Posted on:

< < Back to

NELSONVILLE, Ohio (WOUB) — Athen-based band The D-Rays brought their energetic surf rock to the Sycamore Sessions on day one of the Nelsonville Music Festival.

The D-Rays formed in 2011 and are composed of married couple Erick Coleman (guitar), Missy Pence (bass), and Brandon Robinson (drums). The D-Rays made their Nelsonville Music Festival debut in 2012 and have performed every year for the festival except 2016. Distinguished by their surf rock, garage rock sound, they released one EP in 2012, “Safety Third” (self-released) and a self-titled album in 2013 (self-released).

The D-Rays started off their set with “Mavericks On the Hocking” off their self titled album, and then proceeded to blister through another 10 songs. Bringing in a large, receptive crowd, it was a great way for The D-Rays to kick off their Nelsonville weekend!


1. “Mavericks On the Hocking” (“Self-Titled”) – 4:16

2. “Power Nap” (“Self-Titled”) – 7:15

3. “Epi Pen” (“Safety Third”) – 9:07

4. “Squirrel’s Nest” (“Self-Titled”) -11:29

5. “Fantasy Farm 1984” (“Self-Titled”) – 13:34

6. “The History of Devolution” (Unreleased)- 15:51

7. “Belladonna” (“Self-Titled”) – 18:48

8. “Cretin Hop” (The Ramones)- 21:14

9. “Molcajete” (Unreleased)- 23:34

10. “A Blaze in the Athens Sky” (“Self-Titled”) – 25:25

11. “Scratch” (Edwards/Moles) – 28:04

The Sycamore Sessions are presented by the Nelsonville Music Festival in collaboration with WOUB Public Media and the Ohio University Scripps College of Communication’s School of Media Arts and Studies. The performances were recorded and produced by Media Arts and Studies students under the supervision of Host and Director Josh Antonuccio and Associate Producers – Director of Photography Andie Walla (Media Arts and Studies Associate Professor of Instruction), Audio Supervisor Adam Rich (WOUB), and WOUB’s Arts and Culture Editor Emily Votaw. All performances took place during the 2022 Nelsonville Music Festival, which is a production of Stuart’s Opera House.