Athens City School Board, Council-At-Large Chosen

Posted on:

< < Back to

For full election results, visit WOUB's election tracker.

Unofficial results are in for the Athens County general elections.

Democrats Steve Patterson, Christine Knisely and Jennifer Cochran secured the three Council-at-Large seats on the Athens City Council. Patterson received 988 votes, Knisely 980 votes and Cochran 925 votes.

The Athens City Electric Aggregation won by a landslide with 84 percent of the vote. Voters also approved the Athens County electric aggregation with 2,320 voting "Yes" compared to 2,136 voting "No."

Newcomer Kimberly Goldsberry and incumbents Christian Gerig and Bruce Nottke were the top three vote getters in the race for open seats on the Athens City Schools Board of Education. Goldberry secured 2,249 votes, Gerig received 1,801 votes and Nottke received 1,511 votes.

John Depoy won the race for Athens-Meigs Education Service Center Governing Board Member by receiving 1,542 votes while opponent Jeffrey Vogt received only 999.

With 42 provisional ballots still to be counted the race for a seat on the Alexander Local Schools Board of Education is too close to call. Fred David received 956 votes. Mike Chapman received 937 votes.

Jim Sands was elected Athens City Council President. Mary Ann McClure was elected Athens City Treasure. Both candidates were unopposed.