WOUB, School Of Communication Studies Pick Up Emmy Award; Student Productions Recognized

Posted on:

< < Back to

Evan Shaw and Lynn Harter were recipients of an Emmy award this weekend for an excerpt of a new documentary series “The Courage of Creativity.” The award was received during the annual award ceremony at the Hilton Columbus Downtown.

The series focuses on the power of art programming to help individuals and organizations. The concept grew from a desire to recognize the power of art programming to help individuals and organizations “imagine new normals” in the midst of uncertainty and vulnerability.



This is the ninth Emmy award for Shaw, WOUB chief editor/videographer, who has received 15 career nominations. He was also nominated in the photographer category and in the arts and entertainment category, along with Grant Burkhardt, for “Honey for the Heart,” a feature that follows a group of artists as they create giant puppets for a Halloween parade in Athens, Ohio.  

Harter is the Barbara Geralds Schoonover Professor of Health Communication in the School of Communication Studies at Ohio University.

WOUB student productions “Gridiron Glory” and “The Bobcat Sports Showcase” were both recognized with student production awards in the Sports category. This is the sixth award for “Gridiron Glory,” which has been recognized three years consecutively.

Emily Mueting, a junior at Ohio University, was the recipient of the David J. Clarke Memorial Scholarship. The $3,000 award was given last year to another Ohio University student, Rachel Thompson.

Honorable mentions were given in the student awards to WOUB’s nightly news program “Newswatch” and to Christa Lamendola for a feature story “Careful! Smart phones store locations in photos.”

“Monhegan Light,” produced by Ohio University’s School of Media Arts and Studies, was honored with a student production award in the Short-Form – Fiction category. The short film features a cinematographer as he travels to Monhegan Island, Maine, to confront a painter about his relationship with his dead wife.


Ohio University’s “Voice of the Bobcats” Russ Eisenstein and David Urano, director of video and photography services for University Communications and Marketing, both received nominations.

WOUB students helped produce and host the live broadcast. See the ceremony and red carpet/backstage interviews here. 

The Ohio Valley Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is one of 19 regional chapters throughout the United States. The chapter presents the Emmy awards to television professionals in thirteen markets in West Virginia, Ohio, Indiana and Kentucky.