WOUB, Ohio Students Recognized By Regional National Academy Of Television Arts And Sciences

Posted on:

< < Back to

The Ohio Valley Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences has recognized two WOUB programs and a School of Media Arts and Studies production with student production awards. Several other productions were given honorable mentions.

For the third year in a row the high school football show “Gridiron Glory” has been recognized with a student production award in the Sports category. Students recognized inlude: Jimmy Eckhardt, producer; 
Levi Creeger, director; Marc Bobson, assistant director;
 Keith Turner, host and
 Avery Jennings, content coordinator.

Produced by Ohio University students, the live show airs Friday night at 11:30 p.m. and features regional coverage of high school football, including teams from both Ohio and West Virginia.  The show features highlights, analysis and coach and player interviews. 

“The Bobcat Sports Showcase” also received a student production award in the Sports category. The student-produced show features Ohio University varsity sports and airs at 11 p.m. Fridays throughout the school year. Students recognized are: Tyler Rosten, producer;
 Graham Fugazzi, host;
 Seth Austin, reporter; 
Alex Stec, reporter;
 Patrick Moore, reporter
; Colin Brown, reporter and
 Morgan Overbey, reporter.

Honorable mentions were given to WOUB’s nightly news program, “Newswatch,” and the feature story “Careful! Smart Phones Automatically Store Location in Photos” produced by Christa Lamendola.

“Monhegan Light,” produced by Ohio University’s School of Media Arts and Studies, was honored with a student production award in the Short-Form – Fiction category. The short film features a cinematographer as he travels to Monhegan Island, Maine, to confront a painter about his relationship with his dead wife. Students recognized are: Lindsay Hatcher, producer; 
Mike Rhoa, producer; 
Willem Holzer, producer; 
Joe Battaglia, director; 
Greg Mezey, director of photography; 
Jacob Nemeth, editor and 
Arielle Busch, assistant director. Professor Frederick Lewis served as Executive Producer. 

Monhegan Light Official Trailer from Greg Mezey on Vimeo.

“From Garden To Market” and “The Rainmaker,” both produced by Ohio University student Eric Tiu were given honorable mentions in the Short-Form – Fiction and Short-Form – Non-Fiction category.

Emily Mueting, an Ohio University junior majoring in Communications, has received the $3,000 David J. Clarke Memorial Scholarship grant. Emily has worked on several WOUB productions including “Hardwood Heroes,” “Gridiron Glory” and “Newswatch.”

Another Ohio University student, Rachel Thompson, took home the David J. Clarke Memorial Scholarship grant in 2013.

The Ohio Valley Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is one of 19 regional chapters throughout the United States. The chapter presents the Emmy awards to television professionals in thirteen markets in West Virginia, Ohio, Indiana and Kentucky.

The awards ceremony will be held Saturday, August 2 at the Hilton Columbus Downtown.