WOUB’s Gridiron Glory Recognized by Ohio Valley Regional NATAS

Posted on:

< < Back to

WOUB’s Friday night football show, “Gridiron Glory” has been recognized with a student production award for the fifth year in a row by the Ohio Valley Regional chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. This honor makes the eighth student production award in the show’s 17-year history.

GG15The student-produced show features regional coverage of high school football, showcasing season highlights and analysis and coach and player interviews. The live show airs at 11:30 Friday nights throughout the football season. Students recognized include: Emily Mueting, producer; Justin Holbrock, host; Natalie Abraham, director; Colin Porter, assistant director; Brad Friedman, co-web/social media coordinator and Kelsey Rinard, co-web/social media coordinator.

“We are thrilled to be recognized by the Ohio Valley Regional Chapter of the NATAS,“ said Mike Rodriguez, student development director and executive producer of Gridiron Glory. “The students involved in the show really put their hearts and souls into the broadcast. They work hard and it feels good to get recognition.”

“‘Gridiron Glory’ has become a go to source for comprehensive high school football coverage in the region,” said Rodriguez. “It also provides excellent training for students who are interested in sports media or learning about live multi-camera video production.”

Also recognized with an honorable mention in the Sports Program category is “The Bobcat Sports Showcase” and in the News- General Assignment category is Katy Andersen for her feature story “An Effort to Combat Ohio’s High Infant Mortality Rate.”

Students will be recognized at the annual Ohio Valley Regional Emmy Award Gala on Saturday, August 6 in Lawrenceburg, Ind.

The Ohio Valley Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is one of 19 regional chapters throughout the United States. The chapter presents the Emmy awards to television professionals in thirteen markets in West Virginia, Ohio, Indiana and Kentucky.

Winning Gridiron Glory episode:

Recognized with an honorable mention: